Looking forward to school

I remember always looking forward to that first day of school. I enjoyed my vacations, but I enjoyed school. By the end of the summer, I couldn’t wait to see what the new school year would bring. Even after my main activity was a job that didn’t respect the school year calendar as much, Fall was still an exciting season. It felt like new beginnings. A clean start to a new year. So many opportunities.

I’ve decided to go back. I’ve been accepted as a High School teacher for the 2014-2015 school year. I’ll be teaching AP Computer Science at Lindbergh High School in Renton. I’m still working full-time at Microsoft, but I’ll also be teaching through the Technology Education And Literacy in Schools (TEALS) program. I feel that it’s a way I can make a difference.

Of course I’m confident in my knowledge of the topic. I’m less confident in my ability to teach. As I wrote that last sentence, I realized I’m on the wrong track already. I should not be focused on me teaching, but on students learning. That’s another thing I’m worried about – connecting with the students. The best teachers I remember were those who got to know each student and were able to say or do the thing that would be helpful to each. Will I be able to get to know the students?

So my summer activity is preparing. TEALS has training sessions for the teachers to get some grounding in what to do when standing in front of a class of High School students. I’ll be working through the lessons and getting even more excited!

Leave a comment